Merry Christmas! Committee Gives Favorable Vote to Outrageous Disney World-for-Illegals Bill

Merry Christmas! Committee Gives Favorable Vote to  Outrageous Disney World-for-Illegals Bill

by Ted Tripp
Political Reporter

On December 23, 2015, members of the Joint Committee on Children, Families and Persons with Disabilities gave a generous Christmas present to all the illegal aliens and non-citizens in Massachusetts. They voted favorably on House H.125, a bill that would allow all current and soon-to-arrive illegal aliens access to virtually all state and local government programs, benefits, payments, services, participation in any program or activity, licenses, grants, etc. The bill was reported out of Committee on January 21, 2016 and referred to the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing.

What were these Committee members thinking?

The cost would be huge with no upside to the state or local communities. It would also make Massachusetts a “premier destination” for future illegal aliens once they cross the southern border. The commonwealth is already known as one of the better states for illegals because of our generous benefits and this would make the problem exponentially worse.
No one knows how many illegal aliens there are in Massachusetts. The Federation for American Immigration Reform estimated there were 190,000 in 2010. There are obviously many more today. How many do you think there will be if H.125 eventually becomes law? 500,000? A million? More?

We just can’t afford to keep giving way “stuff” to those who can’t be bothered to wait in line and immigrate here legally. It’s not like Massachusetts and our cities/towns have surplus money to throw around. Wouldn’t you like to see any extra money spent on improving our roads, new MBTA trains, increased local aid … or even, God forbid, returning it to the taxpayers?
Incredibly, only Rep. Shaunna O’Connell (R-Taunton) voted against this travesty of a bill. Six others did not vote including several Republicans whom you might think would vote against such a bill. Eight Committee members gave the bill a favorable vote and two reserved their right (to vote at a future time).

Repeated calls to Rep. Kimberly Ferguson’s (R-Holden) office, asking for an explanation on her non vote, were not returned. A call to Sen. Donald Humason’s (R-Westfield) office was returned with the explanation that the senator had voted “reserve right.” This conflicted with the official tally which listed him as “no recorded vote.”

Did you notice that the vote was taken on December 23rd, just two days before Christmas? Was this done on purpose or was this just a product of a poorly functioning state government? Here is something to note. The House Chair of the Joint Committee, Rep. Kay Khan (D-Newton), who voted favorably on the bill, was also a cosponsor of the bill. I wonder who sets the date for the vote?

The Boston Broadside wants you to know how Committee members voted so you can contact them and express your “educated” opinion. Make sure you also contact Representative Shaunna O’Connell (R-Taunton) and thank her for standing strong with the citizens of the commonwealth on this important issue.

Comm. Member Party/Town Phone E-mail Vote

Rep. Kay Khan (D-Newton) 617-722-2011 Kay.Khan@mahouse.gov Favorable

Rep. Aaron Vega (D-Holyoke) 617-722-2011 Aaron.Vega@mahouse.gov Favorable

Rep. Danielle Gregoire (D-Marlborough) 617-722-2070 Danielle.Gregoire@mahouse.gov Favorable

Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier (D-Pittsfield) 617-722-2240 Tricia.Farley-Bouvier@mahouse.gov Favorable

Rep. Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston) 617-722-2680 Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov Favorable

Rep. Jonathan Hecht (D-Watertown) 617-722-2140 Jonathan.Hecht@mahouse.gov Favorable

Sen. Jennifer Flanagan (D-Leominster) 617-722-1230 Jennifer.Flanagan@masenate.gov Favorable

Sen. Joan Lovely (D-Salem) 617-722-1410 Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov Favorable

Sen. Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston) 617-722-1673 Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov Reserve right

Sen. John Keenan (D-Quincy) 617-722-1494 John.Keenan@masenate.gov Reserve right

Rep. John Rogers (D-Norwood) 617-722-2092 John.Rogers@mahouse.gov No vote recorded

Rep. Michelle DuBois (D-Brockton) 617-722-2011 michelle.dubois@mahouse.gov No vote recorded

Rep. Kimberly Ferguson (R-Holden) 617-722-2263 Kimberly.Ferguson@mahouse.gov No vote recorded

Rep. David Rogers (D-Cambridge) 617-722-2013 Dave.Rogers@mahouse.gov No vote recorded

Sen. Jason Lewis (D-Winchester) 617-722-1206 Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov No vote recorded

Sen. Donald Humason, Jr. (R-Westfield) 617-722-1415 Donald.Humason@masenate.gov No vote recorded

Rep. Shaunna O’Connell (R-Taunton) 617-722-2305 Shaunna.O’Connell@mahouse.gov Adverse

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *